Slumdog Millionaire — Believe the Hype

Good day, America. I know it’s been a long time, and I’m so sorry to have kept you waiting.

I would like to inform you that I have officially bought into the hype. Slumdog Millionaire is one of the greatest movies of all time. No, I am not exaggerating.

The movie raked in a number of awards this year, winning an amazing eight Oscars and four Golden Globes. However, in my book, that hardly constitutes greatness. I have lost count of how many times I have sat down to watch an Oscar-winning film and ended up cursing the Academy and asking God for those two hours of my life back. But, lucky you, I took one for the team and watched it for all of us, and lucky me, it was nothing short of awesome.

Like another one of my fave flicks this year (The Namesake), Slumdog Millionaire casts a rare spotlight on Indian culture. Based on the book, Q&A, by Indian author Vika Swarup, the movie tells the story of Jamal Malik, a young man from the slums of India. Jamal competes on the popular television show, Who Wants to be a Millionaire, in hopes of catching the eye of his long lost love, Latika.

It sounds simple, right? I know. I thought so too; however, this movie is anything but simple. The only word I can think of to describe it is masterful. Slumdog Millionaire interweaves a variety of storylines and images to create a beautiful love story.

As usual, if you have a couple of hours in your busy schedule, I implore you to give Slumdog Millionaire a chance. Trust me…I rented it twice. The awards and fanfare are well deserved.

~ by micheledb on April 16, 2009.

4 Responses to “Slumdog Millionaire — Believe the Hype”

  1. i said it once and i’ll say it again. i refuse to watch a movie where the come up is a reality show. I guess i’ll write a movie about two dudes from the hood who save up and buy a lotto ticket and win the lotto.

  2. I think i’m sold. now i just need a reason to go to the movies

  3. hmmm….maybe but if i don’t like it you owe me a double cheeseburger

Leave a comment