B.O.B….New Gimmick or Stroke of Genius?

Guess what America? I got a real job! So, after a nearly one year hiatus, I  have the time to bring my erratic opinions to the masses on a daily (or at least weekly) basis. So let’s get to it, shall we?

Today, I bring you my thoughts on the South’s latest son, B.O.B.

His much anticipated debut album entitled The Adventures of Bobby Ray, was officially released on Tuesday, April 27. I trekked on down to Best Buy and snapped up the last copy earlier this week. With his chart topping single “Nothin On You” already in heavy rotation on my iPod, I expected nothing less than the best. I wasn’t disappointed. At just 19-years-old, this young rapper has succeeded in doing what many other so-called artists could not; he has injected new life into the rap game.

Is the album a stroke of genius? Well, no. Sorry. The lyrics aren’t overly thought provoking, but what it does do is bring something to the game that’s been missing — It’s unique, and that’s definitely a compliment these days. I don’t know about you, but I swear if I hear one more album with 17 straight club bangers touting this or that rapper’s chains, cars, money, weed, bitches and hoes, I am going to kill myself.

Luckily, I don’t have to today.

If you’re familiar with his singles and mixtapes, you already know B.O.B. has a style all his own.  The Adventures of Bobby Ray transitions nicely between a rock flow, a rap flow and it even has a sprinkling of Crunk music. It’s refreshing and I encourage everybody, no matter what kind of music you prefer, to give this album a listen. You’re sure to find at least a couple of tracks you like. My personal favorites include Airplanes featuring Hayley Williams of Paramore, Fame and Bet I featuring T.I. and Playboy Tre.

 Still not convinced? Well then I suggest you go see the man for yourself.  I recently saw B.O.B. and Lupe Fiasco at the Steppin Lasers tour in New York. It was one of the best shows I have ever attended, and if B.O.B. (or Lupe Fiasco for that matter) is coming to a town near you, you need to scratch together a few dollars and go. I guarantee it’s money well spent.

I won’t continue to rattle on, but I will end by saying this: B.O.B. is hugely talented, and I have a feeling we will hear a lot more from him in the future. Jump on the bandwagon kids! Get this album. You know I never lie.

~ by micheledb on April 30, 2010.

One Response to “B.O.B….New Gimmick or Stroke of Genius?”

  1. Funny you right about this. When I heard his single I thought about you.

Leave a comment